TWD #23: Gosh Galette Miss Molly

July 30, 2008 at 10:38 am 24 comments

T-T-T-Tuesdays with Dorie Day! Well technically its Wednesday but we’ll just pretend, k?

This week was hosted by Michelle from Michelle in Colorado Springs. You can find the complete/original recipe on her blog. Boy did she ever pick a good one!

Check out what my fellow TWDers baked up too! [CLICKETY CLICK]

Come on. You know you want to!

Question: How do you pronounce this dessert? Gall-let? Gull-let? Gall-lay? Gah-lay?

I argued with my husband about it. When I tried to find it in my trusty dictionary, nothing came up. I say Gah-lay Does my title make sense now? and he says Gall-let. Settle the bet for us. I have a new baking pan riding on this! LOL

What did I learn this week:
One of the biggest reasons why I love TWD is our ability to change/modify the recipe to fit our needs and tastes. After rekindling my love of cherries from last week’s Cherry Cobbler, I decided to axe the peaches and nectarines and use strawberries and cherries instead. I love that I am getting more comfortable with adjusting the recipe. Before I always had to do recipes by the book b/c I was afraid if I didn’t, I’d mess it up! Also the more I use my food processor, the more its becoming my favorite kitchen appliance (KA mixer will always be #1 though.)

Summer Fruit Galette


(Recipe adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

Good for almost anything pie dough, single crust (See notes)
jam or marmalade (I used strawberry preserves instead)
graham cracker crumbs
fresh summer fruit (I used about 8 strawberries, halved and 8 cherries, pitted and halved)
decorating or granulated sugar, for dusting

[NOTES: The dough recipe used butter and shortening but I didn't have any shortening so I substituted equal amts butter for the shortening.]

For custard
unsalted butter, melted and cooled
sugar
egg
vanilla extract

INSTRUCTIONS


To make dough: Combine flour, salt, sugar, and butter. Pulse to combine until butter is pea size bits.


Add water and pulse until dough comes together.


Remove dough from food processor and roll out between parchment paper.

[NOTES: I chilled my dough in the frig for about an hour before rolling out.]


Using a template, trace a circle in the center of the dough. Do not cut all the way through the dough. Using an offset spatula, spread the preserves within the inner circle.

[NOTES: I used a 9" round cake pan for template and the blunt edge of a butter knife.]


Sprinkle graham cracker crumbs all over the preserves.

[NOTES: I used about 3 tbsp because a better baker than I suggested more since strawberries are a juicer fruit.]


Arrange fruit, cut side down, on top of the graham cracker layer.


Gently lift dough up around the fruit filling. Bake for about 25 minutes.


To make custard: Whisk butter, sugar, egg and vanilla.


Remove from oven and pour custard into the fruit crevices. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

[NOTES: I used about 1/2 of the custard. I baked for 15 but next time I'll probably do 12 instead b/c the custard got more brown that I wanted.]


Let cool. Sprinkle with powder sugar for garnish. Serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He raved about the flavors of the dough, preserves, fruit and custard. He says it rivals his apple-pie cake favorite!

Wifey rating: A+
This was an AMAZING dessert. I love the strawberries and cherries together. The custard was fantastic! I think this is my favorite TWD recipe, a little above the lemon cream tart now.

Other rating: A+
Both MIL and FIL raved about it. FIL ate 3 slices and asked if he could keep the rest for later.

Next week: The Black and White Banana Loaf on page 232

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Belated Bunday Monday Bunday Monday

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slush  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Im with T. I say gal-ette. Cant help it?

    And I am so not a better baker than you. Good lord woman.

    It looks fantastic. I am so glad you guys liked it as much as we did. I cant wait to make it again with some apples. Mmmm.

    Reply
  • 2. NinaBeth  |  July 30, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Looks scrumptious! This website will pronounce Galette for you. It sounds kinda like gah-let. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/galette (Make this a pretty link for me. :) )

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie of CKC  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:35 am

    I say it like you do… but I think we’re wrong… ;-)

    Reply
  • 4. Michelle  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Ooo I bet that flavor combo was delish. :o)

    Great job!

    Reply
  • 5. Tanya  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:57 am

    What a truly gorgeous, delicious looking galette! I bet this one goes fast!

    Reply
  • 6. food librarian  |  July 30, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    lovely galette and great play-by-play! i feel like i was there…only i didn’t get a piece! :)

    Reply
  • 7. Esther  |  July 30, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Your step by step pics are great! And the custard looks like it stayed in, unlike our’s:)

    Reply
  • 8. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  July 30, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Gor-geous!! I love how perfect and pretty your round pie thingy that I can’t pronounce either looks! ;)

    Reply
  • 9. Madam Chow  |  July 30, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I completely agree with you. I’m making it again this weekend, this time with the custard!

    Reply
  • 10. Di  |  July 30, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I have to go with “ga-let.” However you say it, yours looks lovely. The strawberries sounds like a great addition.

    Reply
  • 11. Teanna  |  July 31, 2008 at 5:26 am

    A+’s all around! Gorgeous dessert! And I love how each step was meticulously crafted! You are much more organized than most!

    Reply
  • 12. Alexa  |  July 31, 2008 at 6:01 am

    Beautiful galette. I love the step by step pictures. The custard must be wonderful with all those yummy fruits bathing in it.

    Reply
  • 13. Jenny  |  July 31, 2008 at 6:17 am

    Beautiful pastry!
    Glad to hear there was no major damage from the earthquake and you are okay.

    Reply
  • 14. kamaile  |  July 31, 2008 at 6:26 am

    Wow! That is one amazing looking galette. It looks mouth wateringly delicious! The cherry/strawberry combo sounds interesting.

    Reply
  • 15. rainbowbrown  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:04 am

    Fabulous. Just fabulous.

    Reply
  • 16. kittymama  |  July 31, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I love all the in-progress photos! I know how much work goes into that while you’re also trying to bake. It’s “guh-lett” with the “t” pronounced – same in English or French. The rule with French is that if the word ends with a single “t”, then the “t” is silent. So you would be right if it were spelled “galet”. But when there is a double t followed by e (which means it’s a feminine noun), then you pronounce the “t.” Hope that’s helpful – I was a French major!

    Reply
  • 17. Cassie  |  July 31, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Okay. I knew I should’ve started TWD last week. GRRR!! I SO hafta make this now. It looks so delicious! I’m gonna start this week. I promise…. Unless I get this job. Then who knows when I’ll get time to bake at home!?!?

    Reply
  • 18. Nancy/n.o.e  |  July 31, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Beautiful galette!

    Reply
  • 19. Jaime  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    your pie crust looks so beautiful – i’m jealous! maybe i need to refrigerate mine longer before rolling it out. i used more preserves too but barely any custard. great job!

    Reply
  • 20. Anne  |  August 2, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    That looks awesome with the strawberries! I love your step by step shots, too.

    I’m with you on the food processor and KA. I love my KA like crazy, but the FP more fun the more I use it! :) Great job!

    Reply
  • 21. Barbara  |  August 2, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    Love your step-by-step photos! And what a nice galette (no matter how you say it, it’s one delicious dessert)!

    Reply
  • 22. Jules  |  August 3, 2008 at 11:50 am

    That turned out just beautifully!

    Reply
  • 23. LyB  |  August 4, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    What a beautiful galette! The colors are fabulous and the crust looks perfect!

    Kittymama’s right, the “ette” is pronounced. A “galet” (the “t” is silent) is a pebble. :)

    Reply
  • 24. OSI: Clara from I*heart*Food4Thought « Tuesdays with Dorie  |  October 28, 2008 at 8:49 am

    [...] What has been your favorite TWD recipe so far? I have a few favorites: Lemon cream tart, galette and creme brulee but I’d have to say that the creme brulee wins as the favorite, a little [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 218,781 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

