TWD #22 Return from Cobbler Hill

July 22, 2008 at 3:31 pm 41 comments

If you read my blog on a semi-regular basis, you should know what that little ol image on the left means right?

This week the Dorie bakers are whipping up some Cherry Rhubarb Cobbler picked by our host, Amanda @ LikeSprinklesOnACupcake. Isn’t the name of her blog too cute??

I’ve never had rhubarb and unfortunately I couldn’t find any at my local grocery store so I guess I’ll have to wait for another recipe to pop my rhubarb cherry. *phooey* Instead of rhubarb I listened to my fellow TWDers about finding something a little sour to balance out the sweet cherries. After checking out what my grocery store had to offer, I settled on some granny smith apples.

Since its just me and the hubs, I decided to half the recipe and use my cute little creme brulee dishes for individual servings. I provided the ingredients and amounts that I used. You can find the complete/original recipe on Amanda’s blog.

Side note: Subject line props to Holly. LOL

What I learned this week:
I use to be scared of reducing recipes. I always had this fear that I’d forget to half something or I’d do the math wrong and the [name of dessert] would taste too salty, too flour-y, too something depending on what I forgot to half. Now I don’t even flinch. Call me a dork but I am uber proud.

Cherry [Green Apple] Cobbler


(Recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s BFMHTY | photos from me!)

Makes about 4 creme brulee size cobblers

INGREDIENTS

Filling
15-20 cherries, pitted & halved
1 granny smith apple, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
1/6 cup vanilla sugar
1/2 tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Topping
3/4 cup all-purpose flour (I omitted the wheat flour)
1-1/2 tablespoons (packed) brown sugar
1 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground ginger
3 tbsp butter, cold and cut into pieces
1/4 cup half and half (I used half and half instead of milk)

INSTRUCTIONS


Combine the cherries and apples. Add ginger, cornstarch and sugar. Mix well and set aside to marinate.

[NOTES: I didn't have a cherry pitter so I just halved each cherry and scooped out the pit with my handy dandy fingers. My fingernails were covered in cherry juice and it looked like I murdered someone but it works!]


Throw flour, salt, baking powder, ginger, brown sugar into food processor. Mix it up for a couple pulses just to combine. Add cold butter and pulse until there are pea size butter bits left.


Add half and half and pulse until dough looks curdled. Turn onto a floured surface.


Form dough into a ball and make about 10-15 little balls of dough


Fill dish with fruit mixture+juices and top with balls of dough to cover. Bake for 25 minutes.


I love how the cherry juice ran out of the dish. Adds some character doncha think?

Let cool and top with whipped cream!

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A-/B+
He liked it but it wasn’t his favorite. You know how I know? He ate his one serving but didn’t go for 2nds.

Wifey rating: B+/B
It was good but not great. I actually liked the dough+cherry juice+whipped cream more than the fruit filling. I think I am just not a fruit dessert person.

Next week: Summer Fruit Galette pages 366-367

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

TWD #22 The cobbler is coming… NFR: Prayers please…

41 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kim  |  July 22, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    yumm, green apple! the dishes look so cute. also, good job on the math :) i seriously need to start doing that too…

    Reply
  • 2. steph (whisk/spoon)  |  July 22, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    don’t be in a rush to pop your rhubarb cherry…trust me, it’s worth waiting for! :)

    your mini’s are cute, and i bet the apple was a pretty good sub!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Cherry and green apple sounds so pretty to the eye and palette. Pretty pics of your pretty cobbler.

    Reply
  • 4. Caitlin  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Love the creme brulee dishes of cobbler – especially with whipped cream and a cherry on top. Too cute.

    Reply
  • 5. Amy  |  July 22, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Those are some pretty high grades for something that wasn’t either of your faves! I sometimes do forget to halve an ingredient. Sometimes it’s interesting, like super moist cookies. other times, well, there’s a lot of yelling.

    Reply
  • 6. rainbowbrown  |  July 22, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Looking good! Glad to hear your comfortable with scaling down recipes. Halving things really saves my hide sometimes. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Dolores  |  July 22, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I guess I’ll have to wait for another recipe to pop my rhubarb cherry. Cute. Before I also couldn’t find rhubarb, I briefly considered the title post “Dorie popped my rhubarb cherry”. I’m more than a little curious what kind of google search would lead people in with that title. You’ll have to let me know. :)

    Reply
  • 8. Karen  |  July 22, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    lovely photos. it looks wonderful. i scale down recipes ALL the time, it was actually hard for me to adjust to make a full recipe of this cobbler. i kept trying to do math on the ingredients. :)

    Reply
  • 9. uglydudefood  |  July 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    I pitted my cherries the same way. Until I started reading this week’s TWD entries, I didn’t even know a cherry pitter existed!

    Anyway, sorry to hear the fruit bug didn’t do anything for you, Green Apple Buddy! Maybe next week’s will change your mind (what better to compliment a tray full of fruit than buttery dough and custard)!

    Reply
  • 10. Susan  |  July 22, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    yay…you made it in on time!!
    the green apples look really nice – but your rating isn’t good enough and I believe everything you say – so nope, notgonna try. you should try the blueberry-blackberry lemon combo, though – it’s A+!
    great job CB…

    Reply
  • 11. nickki  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Your cobbler looks so cute! I pitted the cherries with my fingers as well, I also looked like I had murdered somebody! :)

    Reply
  • 12. Rigby  |  July 23, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Your cobbler looks wonderful! I love the dishes and the teaser photo of the cherries :)

    Reply
  • 13. Teanna  |  July 23, 2008 at 7:43 am

    Those cobblers are so cute! I’m not much of a fruit dessert person either, but I love your combo of the apples and cherries!

    Reply
  • 14. Anne  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:06 am

    The minis look great! I’m with you though… ready for a chocolate dessert or something!

    Reply
  • 15. mari  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Love your crème brûleé dishes, and the interesting cherry-green apple combo!

    Reply
  • 16. macduff  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:43 am

    These look so cute! I love the little cherry on top!

    Reply
  • 17. LyB  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:44 am

    I think it’s the cherries in this that makes it meh. I love cherries, but mostly when they’re fresh and crunchy. Your little individual cobblers look too cute!

    Reply
  • 18. Kayte  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:58 am

    I love your little dishes…it makes the cobbler look so cute and yummy, especially with the little spillovers.

    I don’t have a cherry pitter either, and I am going to get one soon, as like you, I had cherry juice all over hands, fingers, counter, cutting board, sink, towels, you name it…LOL.

    I think your combination of cherries and apples sounds so wonderful and I am planning on making that combination this weekend, so thank you for that idea.

    Great photos, great write up, great looking food…what’s not to love about all this?

    Reply
  • 19. Michelle  |  July 23, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Apple and cherry sound like an awesome combo. I’m also terrified of halving recipes. LOL So I make the hubbs eat it all. HAHA!

    Great job!

    Reply
  • 20. Mary Ann  |  July 23, 2008 at 10:13 am

    looks delicious! I love the little dishes!

    Reply
  • 21. Molly  |  July 23, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I love the cherry on top of the individual serving. It’s funny how people are so different on what they like or dislike. I LOVE fruit desserts, but can’t stand cheesecake. How nice that there are so many option.

    Reply
  • 22. Carol Peterman  |  July 23, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Your cobblers look fantastic! I am intrigued by the cherry green apple combo.

    Reply
  • 23. Steph  |  July 23, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Your step by step pictures are amazing! I like your individual servings.

    Reply
  • 24. hornedfroggy  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    And kudos to you, Miss CB, for your cherry pun. Me likey. :)

    Reply
  • 25. Di  |  July 23, 2008 at 1:54 pm

    I like the individual servings. I sometimes have trouble scaling recipes, too. I’ve taken to writing down all the new amounts so they stick in my head and I don’t have to do math on the fly… =)

    Reply
  • 26. Shirlie  |  July 23, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Great write-up and I love the step by step pictorial! Your pictures perfectly showcase your lovely cobbler!

    Reply
  • 27. kamaile  |  July 23, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    The cobblers look so cute in their little dishes. :) The apple/cherry combination sounds interesting.

    Reply
  • 28. Holly @ PheMOMenon  |  July 23, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    I think those apples look wonderful – such cute little cobblers!

    Reply
  • 29. Jaime  |  July 23, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    i have a shallow creme brulee dish – should have used those like you did but i was just worried this recipe required a deeper vessel… they look great! esp w/the whipped cream and cherry on top!

    and i forgot to say on my last comments – happy belated birthday!!! :)

    Reply
  • 30. Kait  |  July 23, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    I used the same method for pitting my cherries, actually. I tried other methods but they were just too darn slow–we had to halve the cherries anyway so it made sense to me. Glad I’m not the only one that took a shortcut.

    Love those dishes, by the way.

    Reply
  • 31. Shandy  |  July 23, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Your mini cobblers are so adorable and your pictures. . .WoW! I am proud of you too for feeling comfortable with reducing a recipe. I know I still get nervous about it. I was raised from the school of bigger is better and I am still trying to retrain my self. You do such beautiful baking =D

    Reply
  • 32. Tammy  |  July 23, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    your cobblers look great! Do try rhubarb when you can – it is a bit of an acquired taste as it can be quite tart

    Reply
  • 33. Maya  |  July 24, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Interesting combination with apple.

    Reply
  • 34. leslie  |  July 24, 2008 at 6:59 am

    Ohhhh.Love it! Love the overflow of yummy juices!

    Reply
  • 35. Jenny  |  July 24, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I think it is the ginger in it that makes the fruit filling be disliked by so many people. I didn’t like mine either.
    Your mini’s look so cute.

    Reply
  • 36. Madam Chow  |  July 24, 2008 at 10:22 am

    The cobbler looks wonderful, even though it didn’t get an A!

    Reply
  • 37. Michelle  |  July 24, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I love your cobbler pictures. How do you post so many? It will only let me post 5. Hmmmm Im proubly missing something. Your cobbler is wonderful and I love your blog. Thanks for sharing your talent with us!

    Reply
  • 38. Shari@Whisk: a food blog  |  July 24, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Your idea to use apple instead of rhubarb is a great one! I’m so surprised to learn that many people haven’t tried rhubarb before! It must be a Canadian thing, but almost everyone I know grows it or wants to get rid of it after they have a patch because it takes over your garden! Your individual cobblers look amazing!!
    Shari@Whisk: a food blog

    Reply
  • 39. Aaliyah  |  July 25, 2008 at 7:48 am

    My husband is the same…he never has seconds with spaghetti which is a favorite of everyones but his. lol

    I like your little dishes and your photos of the cherries with the apples is awesome!

    Hope to see your post next week!

    Reply
  • 40. Mara  |  July 25, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    cutie, i love the modifications!!!! fab.

    Reply
  • 41. JacqueOH  |  July 25, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I think they need to add a picture of your little cobblers next to the word “adorable” in the dictionary. Seriously, those are cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 219,789 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

