Bonus Bunday

July 17, 2008 at 7:13 pm 11 comments

My cooking and baking are usually inspired by something. My baking group, a picture, a craving etc. This time it wasn’t any of the above.

I was cleaning my cluttered baking supply drawer when I noticed these cutesy little cookie cutters that I bought from Williams Sonoma last month but never used yet. It comes with the usual shapes – heart, star, square etc. Then I saw the club and tear drop cookie cutter and they jumped out at me. All the sudden I was in the mood to bake cookies! But not just any cookies. Carrot shaped cookies for… my bunnies!


Tell me that doesn’t look like a carrot!?!

I’ve been wanting to bake this recipe for a long time but I’ve been spoiled by another bunny friend who actually bakes them in HUGE batches and ships some to me. Unfortunately my bunnies ran out of their favorite far away cookie a couple weeks ago. sniff. Since necessity is the mother of invention… err… baking, it was up to momma bunny (me) to bake up some more!

Bunny Biscuits


(Recipe from Rabbit.org | photos from me!)

Makes about 40 little cookies

INGREDIENTS

1 small carrot, pureed* (I used 5 baby carrots)
1/2 banana, mashed until really creamy
1 tbsp honey
1/4 cup rabbit pellets, ground finely in a coffee grinder (I use Oxbow Bunny Basics pellets)
1/4 cup ground oats, ground finely in a coffee grinder (Old fashion oats NOT quick oats)

*To puree carrot: Boil water (just enough to cover carrots). Chop carrot into smaller pieces. Turn down heat and let carrots simmer for about 15 minutes until soft. Drain water. Puree carrot in a food processor. Let cool.

INSTRUCTIONS

Mix pureed carrot, banana and honey in a medium bowl. Add pellet powder and ground oats. Mix until blended. Knead in your hands for 1-2 minutes.


Roll out the “dough” in 1/8- to 1/4-inch thick layers between sheets of plastic wrap. Cut into small cookies (about 3/4 inch across). Place cut shapes onto a parchment paper covered cookie sheet.

[NOTES: I like to use parchment paper b/c it keeps the cookies from sticking without adding any grease.]


Bake at 325 degrees for about 30 minutes (check to make sure they are not browning too much). Let completely cool before feeding to bunnies.

[NOTES: Please remember these are treats and should be given sparingly to avoid upset bunny tummies.]

ENJOY! :)

Bunny rating: A++
Both OpieBun and Snickerdoodle LOVE these cookies. I tried to get a picture but they were too quick for me and gobbled them up before my camera could flash! Obviously they must be goooooood!

I also included another bunny treat recipe after the cut. I haven’t tried it yet but its on my must-bake bunny list!

Raspberry Rabbit Cookies
(Recipe from Bunny Treats)

Makes About 18-20 cookies

INGREDIENTS

1/3 cup Frozen Raspberries, de-thawed
1/2 Tbsp Dried Mint
1/3 cup Rabbit Pellets, ground finely in a coffee grinder
3 Tbsp Old Fashion Oats, ground finely in a coffee grinder

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mash the raspberries together with a fork. Mix raspberries with mint.

Mix oats and pellets together.

Slowly add dry mixture to raspberry/mint mixture until well blended together. Using a teaspoon measuring spoon, spoon out onto a cookie sheet covered in parchment paper.

Flatten cookies with a fork to about 1/4″ thick. Cook for 20 minutes or until brown on bottom. Let cool (For a crunchier treat, turn off oven and leave in until stove cools)

*To make dried mint:
1. Wash the mint thoroughtly and carefully in cold water without removing the stems.
2. Dry it very well, using paper towels or other absorbent towels.
3. When dry, carefully remove the leaves from the stems.
4. Place the leaves on a cookie sheet in a 180F (80C) oven for 2 to 4 hours
5. Once it’s very dry, it can be crumbled by hand or through a screen, or the leaves can be left whole.
6. Store the dried mint in airtight glass, plastic, metal, or ceramic containers, away from light and heat.

Entry filed under: cookies. Tags: .

TWD #21 The proof is in the pudding NFR: I got hacked!!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slush  |  July 17, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    You could have a business idea there CB. Seriously. Sweet lookin Bunny Biscuits.

    Reply
  • 2. nikki  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Good thing those are for the bunsketeers because they don’t look like my kind of food. Now the question is did you taste them because I always taste puddles treats

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  July 17, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    SLUSH, aawww you’re too sweet. Bunny biscuit business you say…? You might have something there! ;)

    NIKKI, haha. No I did not try them myself. I am not a fan of cooked carrots, bananas or bunny pellets. 3 out of 5 ingredients isn’t a good ratio.

    Reply
  • 4. Nikki  |  July 17, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    ok i’ll give you the pellets … if there weren’t pellets i would expect you to taste test (puddles are usually dry and boring)

    Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  July 18, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Those LOOK great! such cute carrots! OMG!

    Reply
  • 6. howtoeatacupcake  |  July 18, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Awww bunny treats!! What an adorable idea!!!

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  July 18, 2008 at 9:51 am

    TARA and HOWTOEAT, Thanks! They came out pretty darn cute if I do say so myself…

    Reply
  • 8. Holly  |  July 18, 2008 at 11:12 am

    What a great idea! You are so clever with those cookie cutters!

    Reply
  • 9. CB  |  July 18, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    HOLLY, clever or crazy? Its all the same in baking right? HAHA.

    Reply
  • 10. Ashley  |  July 18, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Aww I think Levi would do some flips for me if I hooked him up with homemade treats…My husband already thinks the homemade dog ice cream is crazy this might put his view of me right over the edge!

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  July 18, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    ASHLEY, doggy ice cream? Oh yeah… Levi is uber spoiled! haha.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 219,268 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

