Happy Blogiversary+Spinach=2for!

May 30, 2008 at 9:18 am 21 comments

+

My fellow ATCer and bloggy friend, Rachel @ Coconut&Lime, is celebrating her 4 year blogiversary with a giveway and roundup. To “enter” the giveaway all you have to do is recreate one of her original dishes (there are SO many to choose from) or you can create your own original dish using coconut and lime. How fun is that!

Originally I was going for the sweet re-create route but after finding out that this week’s Vindicate the Vegetable cohost, Jen @ Beantown Baker had chosen Popeye’s favorite food, Spinach, a light bulb clicked in my head (Hopefully in the on and not off position)

Whats better than a 1-for? 2-FOR!

Whats better than a fruit roll up? SPINACH ROLL UP!

Spinach Lasagna Roll ups


Click image to enlarge
(Recipe from Coconut&Lime | photos from me!)

INGREDIENTS

For sauce
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 small carrot, minced (I omitted)
1 medium onion, diced
28 oz canned whole tomatoes, hand crushed (I used canned crushed tomatoes)
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine (I substituted chicken broth)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
2 tablespoons fresh basil, minced

For filling
2 eggs
1 shallot, minced
1/2 lb ricotta cheese
1/2 chopped spinach (Guessing its suppose to be 1/2 lb? I used 6oz bag)
2/3 cup mozzarella, cubed
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, grated

1 lb lasagna noodle cooked until almost al dente and then cooled
2/3 cup Parmesan, grated

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350F.

To make the sauce—
In a large saucepan, saute onion, garlic and carrot in olive oil until fragrant, about 5 minutes. Add wine and cook until reduced. Add tomatoes, basil and sugar plus salt and pepper to taste and cook 1/2 hour, stirring occasionally.

To make the filling—
In a large bowl, combine ricotta, spinach, eggs, shallot, nutmeg, mozzarella and salt and pepper to taste, thoroughly.

To assemble—
Ladle 3/4 cup of sauce along the bottom of pan.

[NOTES: I used a 9x13 pyrex dish. Recipe made about 15 rolls for me but I had alot of lasagna noodles left over. I could have made 1/2 lb noodles instead. Maybe I filled it to much?]

Lay out lasagna noodles on a towel, blotting to dry. Spread noodles with 2 tablespoons filling end to end. Roll up. Place in pan on sauce with the open ends to the side. Repeat until no noodles remain or the pan has one complete layer with little gaping. Ladle remaining sauce over the top, sprinkle with Parmesan. Bake covered in foil for 20 minutes, then remove cover and bake an additional 10-15 or until steamy hot and bubbly.

[NOTES: I also added some mozzarella cheese on top of the sauce with the parm cheese for some extra cheesy-ness!]


I served with homemade italian herb bread. YUM!

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He was totally in love with this recipe. He ate 4 rolls and tried to eat 5 but unfortunately had stomach size limitations. Guess size does matter? HAHA.

Wifey rating: A/A-
I really liked this recipe. I bet it would be fantastic with the red wine, but I didn’t have any so I subbed with some chicken broth. Next time I’ll try it with the wine. Also I am realizing more and more that I do not like nutmeg in savory dishes. I think since the nutmeg was kinda overpowering for me I couldn’t enjoy the dish as much as I wanted to. I think next time I’ll reduce it or leave it out. Its just my personal preference though.

Entry filed under: blog event, cheese, pasta, veggie, Vindicate the Veggie. Tags: .

Foodie Question of the Day Shrimp Pad Thai

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NinaBeth  |  May 30, 2008 at 10:28 am

    oh my goodness, this looks so yummy! I’m going to have to make this soon. Thanks for entering VTV! :)

    Reply
  • 2. CB  |  May 30, 2008 at 10:30 am

    NINA, I even did it on time. Aren’t you proud of me? haha.

    Reply
  • 3. mrsabybaby  |  May 30, 2008 at 11:57 am

    Oh yum! I have a lasagna roll recipe in my “to make” book. I agree with you on the nutmeg thing – I don’t like it in cooking as much as I do baking. Something about it freaks me out.

    Reply
  • 4. CB  |  May 30, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    MRSABYBABY, oh good. Glad I am not the only nutmeg hater. I like it in cookies, cupcakes etc etc but for some reason it doesn’t taste good in pastas for me. Go figure!

    Reply
  • 5. zebe912  |  May 30, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Yum. I’m going to have to find some gluten free lasagna noodles & try this. Wait, I guess I have to find some vegan variety of cheese too. Well darn, that makes it not as appealing.

    And yes, no nutmeg except in cookies & such.

    Reply
  • 6. CB  |  May 30, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    ZEBE, sorry chica. I know your new lifestyle change is hard but I respect what you are doing… for yourself and your health. ::high five for another nutmeg hater::

    Reply
  • 7. beantownbaker  |  May 31, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Looks great!

    Reply
  • 8. CB  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    BEANTOWN, great pick this week!

    Reply
  • 9. Spinach Round Up! « Vindicate the Vegetable!  |  June 2, 2008 at 4:42 am

    [...] I [heart] Food 4 Thought made Spinach Lasagna Roll Ups [...]

    Reply
  • 10. Efthimia  |  June 5, 2008 at 3:34 am

    God, my mum will love this! She’s head over heels for pasta, spinach and cheese. I’ll definately be cooking it many times during June (to comfort her throught the difficult times of my dad and I watching soccer all day…)

    Reply
  • 11. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:57 am

    EFTHIMIA, haha I hear ya! My dad loves soccer too. If you make it, let me know what you think! :)

    Reply
  • 12. My Sweet & Saucy  |  June 5, 2008 at 8:54 am

    Great choice! Those look so tasty!

    Reply
  • 13. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 8:55 am

    SWEET&SAUCY, thanky! I liked them but next time I’ll leave out the nutmeg. :)

    Reply
  • 14. Alanna  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:00 am

    So clever! I must try this!!!

    Reply
  • 15. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 9:02 am

    ALANNA, Anig!! How you been stranger!? KIT. xoxo

    Reply
  • 16. Kevin  |  June 5, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    A lasagna rollup is a great idea!

    Reply
  • 17. CB  |  June 5, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    KEVIN, Thanks! I wish I could take credit but its all Coconut&Lime. Definitely check out her blog for more foodie goodness!

    Reply
  • 18. Efthimia  |  June 9, 2008 at 5:12 am

    Thats me, Efthimia, again. Well, I made it and it was a drop dead taste! Of course I took your adviced and forgot about the nutmeg thing. I also took some liberty on the tomato sause, used a large red onion, coarcely chopped and holded the carrot and chanched basil for dill. Mum still drooling. Thanks! I own you one!

    Reply
  • 19. CB  |  June 9, 2008 at 7:24 am

    EFTHIMIA, So glad you liked it! I definitely want to make it again without the nutmeg. That red onion sounds like a yummy substitution too!

    Reply
  • 20. Melissa  |  April 12, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I made this awhile back and it was great. I want to make it again but was thinking of making it one day and cooking it the next, or making it and freezing it uncooked. Any thoughts on how well this might work out?

    Reply
  • 21. CB  |  April 12, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    MELISSA, To be honest I am not sure but if I were going to do it I’d probably make and freeze uncooked. If you try it, let me know how it works out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 217,219 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

