TWD #9 What’s up Doc…errr… Dorie?

April 22, 2008 at 12:51 am 45 comments

I admit right off the bat that I am not a fan of carrot cake. I do not think that vegetables should be in cake. The one experience I’ve had with carrot cake did not taste good. I realize that “carrot” is in the title but I didn’t dig the carrot-y taste! So I was a little weary of this recipe…

Ironically carrots are one of my favorite veggies. But please don’t cook them! It must be a texture thing b/c I hate smooshy carrots. Maybe it stems from my childhood watching Bugs Bunny talking and crunching on a crispy carrot that always had a great snap with every bite. I am pretty sure I owe this witty cartoon character my love of carrots.

There are no shortage of carrots in my house for 2 reasons: my Bugs Bunny syndrome (mentioned above) and dinner for my 2 bunnies. I buy baby carrots in the Costco bulk pack! A myth about bunnies is that carrots are part of their main diet. That is semi-true. Carrots are a great source of Vitamin A but they are also sweet so I call them “bunny candy”. For that reason I try not to give carrots to my bunnies in big amounts. Since they are “treats” for my bunnies, when Opiebun hears the frig open and sees the “carrot bag” come out she goes nuts! But after a couple minutes of waiting and realizing that she wasn’t getting any carrots b/c it was going in the food processor grater, she sat there, glaring at me sulking. For some reason I don’t think she understood my explanation about carrot cake. All she knew was she wasn’t getting any! The rest of the night I got nothing but the cold shoulder. Animals hold grudges much? Oh yes… yes they do. LOL.

What I learned this week:
1. Don’t make my color combination mistake. red (not green) + yellow=orange! I guess I am not smarter than a 5th grader! LOL.
2. Try to remember that filling a cupcake liner more than 2/3 full to indulge my no batter left behind zealous-ness could have less than attractive results. Wanna see?

Hosted by Amanda @ Slow Like Honey
Check out the Tuesdays w/ Dorie blogroll on the side menu bar.

Bill’s Big Carrot Cupcake
(Recipe from DG Baking: From my home to yours pages 253-255 | photos from me!)


Click image to enlarge

Makes about 24 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

For the cake
2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 cups grated carrots
1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans
1 cup shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
1/2 cup moist, plump raisins (dark or golden) or dried cranberries
2 cups sugar
1 cup canola oil
4 large eggs

[NOTES: Dorie doesn't mention in the book but I used 3 cups grated carrots, loosely packed]

For the frosting
8 ounces cream cheese, room temperature
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 pound or 3-3/4 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice or 1/2 teaspoon pure lemon extract
1/2 cup shredded coconut (optional)
Finely chopped toasted nuts and/or toasted shredded coconut (optional)

INSTRUCTION

Position the racks to divide the oven into thirds and preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Butter three 9-x-2-inch round cake pans, flour the insides, and tap out the excess. Put the two pans on one baking sheet and one on another.

To make the cake—
Whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. In another bowl, stir together the carrots, chopped nuts, coconut, and raisins.


Click image to enlarge

Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the sugar and oil together on a medium speed until smooth. Add the eggs one by one and continue to beat until the batter is even smoother. Reduce the speed to low and add the flour mixture, mixing only until the dry ingredients disappear. Gently mix the chunky ingredients. Divide the batter among the baking pans.


Click image to enlarge

Bake for 40-50 minutes, rotating the pans from top to bottom and front to back at the midway point, until a thin knife inserted into the centers comes out clean. The cakes will have just started to come away from the sides of the pans. Transfer the cakes to cooling racks and cool for about 5 minutes, then run a knife around the sides of the cakes and unmold them. Invert and cool to room temperature right side up

[NOTES: Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full and bake cupcakes for 20-25 minutes until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely before frosting.]


Click image to enlarge

The cakes can be wrapped airtight and kept at room temperature overnight or frozen for up to 2 months.

To make the frosting—
Working with a stand mixer, preferably fitted with a paddle attachment or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and butter together until smooth and creamy. Gradually add the sugar and continue to beat until the frosting is velvety smooth. Beat in the lemon juice or extract.

If you’d like coconut in the filling, scoop about half of the frosting and stir the coconut into this position.

To assemble the cake—
Put one layer top side up on a cardboard cake round or a cake plate protected by strips of wax or parchment paper. If you added the coconut to the frosting, use half of the coconut frosting to generously cover the first layer (or generously cover with plain frosting). Use an offset spatula or a spoon to smooth the frosting all the way to the edges of the layer. Top with the second layer, this time placing the cake stop side down, and frost with the remainder of the coconut frosting or plain frosting. Top with the last layer, right side up, and frost the top- and the sides- of the cake. Finish the top with swirls of frosting. If you want to top the cake with toasted nuts or coconut, sprinkle them on now while the frosting is soft.

Refrigerate the cake for 30 minutes, just to set the frosting before serving.

To assemble cupcakes—
Fill a piping bag with frosting and using a 1M piping tip, frost the cupcake. Sprinkle with orange food-colored coconut for garnish.

Serving:
This cake can be served as soon as the frosting is set. It can also wait, at room temperature and covered with a cake keeper overnight. The cake is best served in thick slices at room temperature and while it’s good plain, it’s even better with vanilla ice cream or some lemon curd.

Storing:
The cake will keep at room temperature for 2 to 3 days. It can also be frozen. Freeze it uncovered, then when it’s firm, wrap airtight and freeze for up to 2 months. Defrost, still wrapped, overnight in the refrigerator.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He raved about how well the walnuts, coconut and craisins tasted together and ate more than 1!

Wifey rating: A
I do not like carrot cake but I can’t believe how much I liked this recipe. I admit to licking my batter-fingers more than once. haha. Maybe I am not the carrot cake hater that I originally thought I was?

Other rating: A+
I brought some cupcakes to work and all my coworkers, even one CW that considers herself the carrot cake connoisseur, raved about using craisins. I had more than one person ask me for the recipe!

Next week: Fluted Polenta and Ricotta Cake pages 200-201

Entry filed under: Tuesdays With Dorie. Tags: .

Day 21 Day 22

45 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caitlin  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:39 am

    Poor Opiebun, no bunny snacks for you :( Your cupcakes look awesome, and I’m glad you liked them too! And yes, the batter was amazing :-P

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:53 am

    I think your cupcakes are wonderful! I Love your bugs bunny too!

    Reply
  • 3. Mary Ann  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:56 am

    looks delicious! Cute story about the bunnies as well! I wish I would have realized the part about not filling the cupcake tin so high-I had major overflowing!

    Reply
  • 4. slush  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Super Sweet CB! Looks great. I am so glad you all liked it!

    Reply
  • 5. LyB  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:13 am

    So cute, I thought the coconut was grated carrots at first, cool idea with the food coloring! That frosting looks perfect!

    Reply
  • 6. annmartina  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Wow! You made it even though you didn’t think you’d like it. Very Brave! They look beautiful and I’m glad it turned out you did like them.

    Reply
  • 7. Amy  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Awesome job! I overfilled my cupcakes, too and they spread out like crazy.. I just scooped up the cake around the edges and piled into in the cupcake while still a little warm and then once it was frosted no one could tell! Yours look great.

    Reply
  • 8. smallbutfeisty  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:52 am

    They look BEAUTIFUL! Great work.

    Reply
  • 9. Bumblebutton  |  April 22, 2008 at 6:30 am

    They look great! I wanna see the bunny!

    Reply
  • 10. mari  |  April 22, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I love it that the recipe totally changed your perception of carrot cake! Your cupcake frosting skillz are good, too!

    Reply
  • 11. Kat Graz  |  April 22, 2008 at 7:28 am

    OMG my perfect cupcake! I LOOOOOVE Carrot cake!

    Reply
  • 12. Lori  |  April 22, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Great post. Love the Bugs Bunny pic. The cupcakes looks so darn cute!

    Reply
  • 13. Sihan  |  April 22, 2008 at 8:41 am

    i wanna see those bunnies! pls post a pic! can only imagine how panicky they are when they see all those carrots being baked up.

    Reply
  • 14. Soulafa  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:00 am

    They are amazing, I love the frosting!!

    Reply
  • 15. Bumblebutton  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Thank you for posting your darling bunny. Now I want one too! Poor thing–deprived of those carrots!

    Reply
  • 16. Jayne  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:32 am

    Those are beautiful little cupcakes! And the bunny is cute, too. : )

    Reply
  • 17. Kim  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Your cupcakes looked adorable! LOVE the orange tinted coconut! Great idea!

    Reply
  • 18. Michelle  |  April 22, 2008 at 10:47 am

    Those look so cute! I am going to have to try those for the husband. :-)

    Reply
  • 19. Dianne  |  April 22, 2008 at 11:20 am

    How cute! And the bunny is adorable too. :)

    Reply
  • 20. Hygeian Stew  |  April 22, 2008 at 11:31 am

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that gets overzealous with excess cake batter. I always have to fight the urge to overfill!

    Reply
  • 21. Annemarie  |  April 22, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    They look fab, but I feel a little sorry for your bunny…where do you find the cute cupcake liners??

    Reply
  • 22. mary  |  April 22, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    the cupcakes look great!and the bunny? well, just adorable!

    Reply
  • 23. kim  |  April 22, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    the cupcakes are so cute! i like the colored coconut!

    Reply
  • 24. Di  |  April 22, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    The orange coconut was a nice touch. I’m sure it would have looked nice with the green, too. =) I love the picture of the overflowing cupcake.

    Reply
  • 25. beth  |  April 22, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    I knew you would eventually come around to carrot cake! :)

    Reply
  • 26. rebekka  |  April 22, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Oh good, I’m so glad you liked it! Your cupcakes look delicious!

    Reply
  • 27. steph  |  April 22, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    i have always wanted a big lop-eared bunny! your cupcakes look beautiful–you bunnies would probably have liked to try them, too!

    Reply
  • 28. Landa  |  April 22, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Oh my gosh. So pretty!

    Reply
  • 29. Melissa  |  April 22, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    The colored coconut is very cute. The “secret” ingredient is zucchini. I sub it for 1/3 to 1/2 of the carrots.

    Reply
  • 30. Heather  |  April 22, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    yum! I love your cupcakes! They look so pretty!

    Reply
  • 31. Jaime  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    your cupcakes are so cute!!! as is your bunny :)

    if you liked this cake, you must try the pastry queen’s version – i promise you will love it :)

    Reply
  • 32. mimi  |  April 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    love the bugs bunny, so cute! your cupcakes look beautiful, as always!

    Reply
  • 33. Heather Peskin  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Delightful cupcakes! Poor little Opiebun – missing out on her treats.

    Reply
  • 34. Shirlie  |  April 22, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    I had a few of my own overflowing cupcakes! I think your cupcakes look great! And I’m glad you enjoyed this recipe!

    Reply
  • 35. KN  |  April 22, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    LOL! I love the “blooper photo” of over-filling. :) Glad to know I’m not the only one who makes mistakes like that in the kitchen. I love the cupcake holders!

    Reply
  • 36. Shari  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:30 am

    Your mini muffins look great! I’m always filling the cups too full too. Your idea of adding food coloring to coconut is brilliant!

    Reply
  • 37. April  |  April 23, 2008 at 7:16 am

    Great looking cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 38. Erin  |  April 23, 2008 at 9:18 am

    That’s interesting about the bunnies! I love your cupcakes, they are so pretty!

    Reply
  • 39. katrina  |  April 23, 2008 at 11:27 am

    Cute! I too had an over-fill problem to the cupcakes…

    Such a cute bunny. Reminds me of Oolong-
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oolong_(rabbit)

    Reply
  • 40. Gretchen Noelle  |  April 23, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Did the bunny get any cupcakes? :) These look great!

    Reply
  • 41. Donna  |  April 24, 2008 at 6:05 am

    Love the cupcakes!
    Can I have your bunny? I’ll just borrow him! Maybe!

    Reply
  • 42. Cecilia  |  April 24, 2008 at 7:00 am

    Great job with the cupcakes! They look beautiful.

    I’m glad you shared the stories of your bunnies with us. Very cute.

    Reply
  • 43. Anne  |  April 25, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Your cupcakes look perfect! Unfortunately… all of mine overflowed like the one you showed! Next time, huh? I love the tip about the coconut on top. Great job!

    Reply
  • 44. Dolores  |  April 25, 2008 at 9:54 am

    I’m generally with you on this one… cooked carrots suck. But Dorie converted me to carrot cake with this one. Yum!

    Reply
  • 45. Jenny  |  April 26, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I’m running late, both in making my cake and in reading about others, sorry! Your cupcakes look great, btw, and the craisins are a nice idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 217,316 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

