Kettle Chip Chicken

April 1, 2008 at 7:33 pm 8 comments

Its not dorito its da kettle chip.

I have that catchy frozen pizza commercial on the brain – Its not delivery its digorno. I think it was the last thing I saw on TV before writing in my blog about my dinner. Forgive me. I’ve been tv-washed.

The dorito chicken recipe has been in my must-make list for a while now but we rarely have chips in our house unless its tortilla chips and I am not allowed to use those to make anything but chicken nachos per my husband’s rules. LOL. But in a moment of chip weakness during my last grocery shopping excursion I picked up a bag of my favorite chips – kettle chips. Since I had those on hand I decided to see if substituting a different chip would give me good results.

Voila! The kettle chip chicken is born. And healthier than dorito? Yup! by about 70 cals! Its not that much but its something!


(Recipe adapted from Realistic-Eats | photos from me!)

Makes 4 servings (1/2 breast=1 serving)
Calories/serving = ~223 (www.sparkrecipes.com)
WW pts/serving = ~7

INGREDIENTS

1 Egg + 1 Tbsp water (egg wash)
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 cup crushed kettle chips

dijon mustard (dipping)

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350F. Spray a baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.

Dip chicken in egg wash and coat in kettle chips evenly. Bake for 25 minutes or until cooked through.

Served with 1/2 baked potato and steamed broccoli.

ENJOY! :)

Husband rating: A+
He really liked this chicken recipe. He ate his and 1/4 of mine and said between bites “this goes in the rotation”. haha

Wifey rating: A/A+
This was very tasty esp with some 0 calorie dijon mustard for a little kick.

Entry filed under: chicken, weight watcher. Tags: .

Day 1 Day 2

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dolores  |  April 1, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    I LOVE this. You can totally change it up by changing the flavor of the chips you use. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 2. Rachel  |  April 1, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    oh yum! I love the onion kettle chips. I bet that would be good with some chicken. Great idea!

    Reply
  • 3. CB  |  April 1, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    DOLORES, totally! I was thinking of trying different chips. Another fav of mine are these Hawaiian sweet onion chips. Mmmm…

    RACHEL, ooohhh onion kettle! genius!

    Reply
  • 4. NinaBeth  |  April 2, 2008 at 5:28 am

    I never would’ve thought about trying different chips like kettle chips. Looks delicious… I wonder if I can get J to try it… hmmm

    Reply
  • 5. CB  |  April 2, 2008 at 6:21 am

    NINA, I am thinking of all kinds of different chips now. Maybe baked lays next for something a little healthier? hehe

    Reply
  • 6. Jen  |  April 4, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Im totally trying this…..if I like it then next time barbeque kettle chips…my hubby loves barbeque sauce so why not?

    Reply
  • 7. CB  |  April 6, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    JEN, great idea! I might have to pick me up some bbq kettle next week. ::adding to the grocery list::

    Reply
  • 8. Diane  |  November 9, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Yum. I just made this, and my sweet DH and I really enjoyed it. I loved your idea of a Dijon dipping sauce, but was kind of lazy. I subbed 1 tablespoon of Dijon instead of water with the egg, and it worked really well. Sweet Maui onion kettle chips were on sale, so that’s what I used, and it was a hit. Thank you so much for this wonderful meal. I love baking the chicken instead of having to saute it. My hubby said I could make this any day of the week – high praise from him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thank You Sponsors!

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

Creative Commons License
Photos, Original Recipes & Text ©iheartfood4thought 2007-2009 unless otherwise indicated. All rights reserved. If you repost any material from this blog, please give credit by including a link back to me. Thank you!

Hits since Dec 2007

  • 219,284 dirty dishes

Tweet Tweet

Badge designed by SiahDesigns

Click the banners

Current reading


The Best Casserole Cookbook Ever by Beatrice Ojakangas

website counter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

